’Cats qualify more for state

By Jason Ferguson


The Custer High School track team had two more individuals and three more track teams hit early season marks to qualify for this year’s state track meet at the Queen City Invitational track meet last Friday in Spearfish.

For the boys squad, Matt Swanson qualified in both the discus and shot put, placing fourth in both events with throws of 140-6 and 49-3, respectively. Fellow thrower Reed Ashmore qualified for state in the discus while winning the event in Spearfish with a top throw of 149-11.

Two more Wildcats were able to bring home individual medals at the meet. Rock Hayford finished sixth in the 200 at a time of 23.68, while EJ Gonzalez was eighth in the high jump at 5-6.

The Wildcats’ 3200 relay team of Max Oesterling, Eli Mines, Logan Block and Joe Rush brought home gold medals, qualifying for the state meet in the process at a time of 8:38.14.

On the girls side, Jordan Menken was the only individual champion for Custer, as she won the shot put with a top toss of 41-5. Menken also placed sixth in the discus with a best throw of 109-4.

Julianne Thomsen had a solid day on the track, placing third in the 300 hurdles at a time of 48.0, while also placing sixth in the 100 hurdles at 16.17. Mallory Delmont rounded out the individual places for Custer with a fifth-place finish in the 3200 at a time of 12:28.26.

Two relay teams placed for the Wildcat girls, with the medley team of Tyrae Johnson, Tayler Carlson, Clara Sedlacek and Tori Glazier winning in a time of 4:21.18, which was a state-qualifying time. The 1600 team of Thomsen, Sedlacek, Delmont and Glazier also qualified for state with a fifth-place-finishing time of 4:09.13.

This weekend the team will split up and head to two different locations Thursday. Some Wildcats will head to Rapid City for Track-o-Rama, which begins at 9:30 a.m. on the campus of South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, while others will head to Belle Fourche for the Center of the Nation Meet. That meet is scheduled to begin at 9 a.m.