Householder returns to city council seat

The votes are in from Tuesday evening’s primary election, and the residents of the City of Hill City have reelected the city council’s current council president, Dale Householder, to another term on the council. Householder won the race in Ward II by defeating challenger John Johnson by a 67-58 count. Householder will serve another two-year term.
In the race for the Pennington County Commission, incumbent Ron Rossknecht of Hill City defeated challenger Mike Mueller of Rapid City by a 2,366 to 1,960 vote. The vote was for a four-year term on the commission.
In the race for two three-year terms on the Hill City School District Board of Education, Eric Lind and Rob Timm were the top vote-getters, with 376 and 343 votes, respectively. There may be a recount, however, as third place-finishing Todd Grabow had 341 votes. John Stam finished in fourth place in the race with 235 votes, while Andi Bauer had 212 votes and John Jorgensen had 121 votes.
In the first contested primary in years for Pennington County Sheriff, current sheriff’s office deputy Brian Mueller defeated Ryan Mechaley 10,558 to 5,437, meaning he will serve a four-year term as the county’s top law enforcement officer beginning in January.
On the state level, Julie Frye-Mueller appears to have retained her seat as District 30 senator by the thinnest of margins, capturing 2,848 votes compared to Tim Goodwin’s 2,802. The closeness of the race likely means a recount is coming as the two seek a two-year term.
In the race for District 30 House of Representatives, Hill City’s Dennis Krull was the top vote-getter, with 2,535 votes. Also advancing to November’s General Election is incumbent Trish Ladner, who received 2,133 votes. Patrick Baumann finished third in the race with 2,038 votes, followed by Lisa Gennaro at 1,309 votes and JR Herrick at 660 votes. Ladner and Krull will face Democrat Bret Swanson on the November ballot.
Gov. Kristi Noem will advance to the November General Election after handily defeating challenger Steve Haugaard of Sioux Falls in the Republican primary by a 76 percent to 24 percent vote at press time. She will take on Democrat Jamie Smith of Sioux Falls in the General Election.
Finally, Amendment C failed in a lopsided vote of 67 percent against and 33 percent for, meaning the state constitution will not change and will not require a 60 percent or higher vote for the approval of any ballot measure that would require appropriations of $10 million or more over the first five fiscal years of the measure.

User login