Brown unopposed for Custer mayor

Jason Ferguson

Bob Brown will be the next mayor of Custer, as he was the only one to turn in a petition seeking the position. He will serve a two-year term starting in July. Current Mayor Corbin Herman announced last month he would not seek reelection.
There will, however, be three races for seats on the Custer City Council. In Ward I, the seat occupied by Jeannie Fischer will be contested, as Fischer will square off with Corey Virtue for a two-year term.
In Ward II, incumbent Bob Schilling will face challenger Julie Jenniges for a one-year term. Schilling was appointed to the seat to finish out the term of former alderwoman Kris Blom, who left the council when she moved out of town. Also in Ward II, Nina Nielsen will run unopposed for a two-year term on the council. Nielsen already holds that council seat.
Ward III will also see a race, as incumbent Peg Ryan will face off with challenger Monica McGowan for a two-year term.
At least two incumbents will return to the Custer School District Board of Education, as both Jeff Prior and Jeff Barnes were the only candidates to turn in petitions for three-year terms on the board.
There will be a race for the two two-year terms on the board however, as current board member Larry Baker of Hermosa will be joined on the ballot by Caralee Weber and Sara Barrick, both of Custer. Incumbent Bob Morgan, Jr., has chosen not to seek reelection.
In Hermosa, incumbent Dan Holsworth will be challenged by Marci Etherington for a three-year term on the Hermosa Town Board.
In Buffalo Gap, Kim McNemar’s three-year seat is available, as she has chosen not to seek reelection. Four people have filed a petition to run for that seat. Carrie Zoellick, Daniel Frieden, Lucia Roda and Kenneth “KJ” Johnson will all appear on the ballot.
In Fairburn, Bradley Mikkelson was the only person to file a petition to serve on that town’s board. He will replace Dean Weekley, who chose not to seek reelection. Mikkelson will serve a three-year term.
At the Elk Mountain School District, Pat Hollenbeck, Joann Boggs and Kent Keidel have all filed petitions for two three-year terms on the school board. Hollenbeck and Boggs are current board members.
The Town of Pringle did not respond to inquiries as to whether it would hold an election this spring.

User login