NHS inducted without ceremony

Ron Burtz

It has been a tough year for all school extracurricular activities, but one of the hardest hit was perhaps Custer High School’s National Honor Society (NHS). Sixteen juniors were to be inducted into the organization last spring, but because of the school closure in March, a formal ceremony was never held.
Students qualify with their grades as juniors, but then have to apply to be members of NHS and those qualifying are inducted in a springtime ceremony. Applicants are evaluated by a faculty committee on the four pillars of NHS: scholarship, leadership, character and service.
The 2019-20 inductees included president Timothy Johnson, vice president Heidi Moore, secretary Emily Meyer, Anna Lewis, Dustyn Fish, Eli Steele, Emma Helfer, Gavin Klein, Goldie Whitaker, Kaitlyn Spring, Kaleb Wragge, Machelle Wicks, Sydney Gaulke, Tallazhanae Johnson, Zoe Hayford and Darian Block.
With a new crop of juniors now qualifying for NHS, an induction ceremony will need to be held, but advisor Dan McIntire said he’s not sure what will happen.
“Quite honestly, we are not sure how the ceremony will look this year,” said McIntire. “We will hold it in the spring and are working 0to figure out how to best honor new inductees while also giving some recognition to the current group that did not get a ceremony.”

User login